Conference: Assessment – Six years of the Colombia – United States FTA

Date: 2 of august of 2018

Time: 8:30 am - 9:30 am

Place: G-401

The event features participation by Dr. Ángela María Orozco Gómez, founding partner of Research and Opportunities, and Professor Beethoven Herrera Valencia.

The Free Trade Agreement between Colombia and the United States has been one of the most controversial in recent years. Since its implementation in 2012, the country has seen considerable changes in Colombian exports; since 2014, the trade balance has shown a deficit in relation to the surplus trade balance from 1999 to 2013.

With the firm intent to thoroughly analyze the balance sheet results of the Free Trade Agreement between Colombia and United States, the Externado de Colombia University and the Coordination area of the Certification in Global Trade with emphasis on FTAs, have organized a discussion meeting to comprehensively explore the Agreement benefits and disadvantages for the Colombian economy.


  • Ángela María Orozco Gómez
    Dr. Orozco was Colombia Minister of Foreign Trade; President of Procolombia, Vice Minister of Foreign Trade, Vice President of the Colombian Association of Flowers Exporters – Asocolflores – and head of the Legal Office of the Colombia Superintendence of Securities. Dr. Orozco is a Law graduate from the Pontificia Universidad Javeriana, with an LLM from the University of Texas in Austin, United States.
  • Beethoven Herrera Valencia
    PhD in International Economics from the Institute for Political Studies – (Sciens Po) in Paris. Master in Economics and International Policy from the Centro de Investigación y Docencia Económica of Mexico; Economist from the Universidad Nacional de Colombia; Philosopher and Historian from the Pontificia Universidad Javeriana. Currently, Dr. Beethoven Herrera is a numerary member of the Colombian Academy of Economic Sciences, Emeritus Professor of the Universidad Nacional de Colombia and the Externado de Colombia. He received the Portafolio Award for the Best Professor of 2009.